Monday, October 18, 2010

Benoni and Pontod win Kalanrakas sa Mahinog 2010, Benoni harvests special awards

Kalanrakas sa Mahinog 2010 Festival Queen Winner: Benoni elementary school Astaire Janica Luspo Mabale

Mahinog, Camiguin (18 October 2010) - Benoni residents have all the reason to be proud of today as their contingent from Benoni Elementary School bagged all the major and special awards in 2010 Kalanrakas sa Mahinog held this morning at Mahinog municipal plaza.

Puntod elementary school, last year’s Kalanrakas sa Kabataan 3rd placer in the provincial level, was also adjudged as other winner in Kalanrakas sa Mahinog today. The top two winners, Benoni and Puntod, received P10,000 each. They bested three other contingents from Mahinog central school, Hubangon ES and Catuhogan ES.

Top two winner: Benoni elementary school contingent

Top two winner: Puntod elementary school contingent

Provincial Tourism Officer Candice Naomi L. Borromeo said the top two winners will represent the municipality in the provincial Kalanrakas sa Kabataan slated on October 23 Saturday at Camiguin Tourism Center in Balbagon in the municipality of Mambajao, Camiguin.

Benoni contingent impressed thousands of spectators because of their lively and fast paced dance steps and flawless executions. They also won all other special awards, Liveliest Contingent, Best in Costume, Best in Musicality and Kalanrakas sa Kabataan Festival Queen.

Kalanrakas sa Kabataan Festival Queen winner went to Benoni ES Miss Astaire Janica Luspo Mabale, while Puntod ES Princes Virtudazo Vicente won the second place and Catuhogan ES Lovely Fatima Lagunay Labial, third place.

Kalanrakas sa Kabataan, a charivari and street dancing contest and one of the highlights of the 31st Camiguin Lanzones Festival, was participated by pupils of the complete elementary levels from public schools in the province and was supported by the cluster barangay councils for each participating school.

Benoni ES under head teacher Ms. Lucita B. King is jointly supported by Benoni barangay council headed by barangay captain Ninalita Ranara and OIC Eliseo Borromeo and San Miguel barangay council under barangay captain Pepito Valdehueza, while Puntod ES under head teacher Infinita Pacturan is jointly sponsored by Puntod and Owakan barangay councils headed by barangay captains, Ernito Abian and Nestor Loor, respectively.

The next Kalanrakas sa Kabataan municipal competitions will be held tomorrow October 19 in Catarman in the morning and Guinsiliban in the afternoon.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Chat @ mahinog trumpet