Thursday, April 15, 2010

Outstanding lupons, councilors and brgys recognized

Best-performing lupons, local councilors, and barangays were recognized last April 8, 2010 by the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) Region 10.

In a celebration of local autonomy, 20 local government units brought home trophies and cash prizes as regional winners of the Lupong Tagapamayapa Incentives Award (LTIA), Galing Barangay (GABAY) Awards and Local Legislative Award, respectively.

Local Sanggunians who excelled in legislative actions (laws and ordinances) which contributed to the attainment of desirable socio-economic and environmental outcomes were awarded that day under the Local Legislative Award.

Top prize went to the local legislators of Iligan City as Outstanding Sangguniang Panlungsod under the Highly Urbanized Cities category, while local legislators of Valencia City won under the Component Cities category.

Outstanding Sangguniang Bayan awards under the 4th-6th Class Municipalities conferred to the local councilors of Mahinog, Camiguin while local legislators of Mambajao, Camiguin won under the 1st-3rd Class Municipalities categories.

Other LGUs with Outstanding Sanggunians were: for Highly-Urbanized Cities category Cagayan de Oro City (1st Runner-up), for Component Cities category El Salvador City (1st Runner-up), and for the 1st-3rd Class Municipalities category Lugait, Misamis Oriental (1st Runner-up).

Local arbiters of Barangay Bugo of Cagayan de Oro City, Barangay Kalasungay of Malaybalay City, Barangay Liboran of Baungon, Bukidnon, and Barangay Poblacion of Libertad, Misamis Oriental emerged as the regional winners of LTIA under the Highly-Urbanized Cities, Component Cities, 1st-3rd Class Municipalities and 4th-6th Class Municipalities categories, respectively.

On the other hand, best-performing barangays were also recognized under the Galing Barangay or GABAY Awards. GABAY recognizes the best performing barangays and aims to strengthen good barangay governance and stimulate innovations in the barangays.

For this year, Barangay Suarez and Barangay Ubaldo D. Laya both of Iligan City were the Regional Winners under the Highly-Urbanized Cities Urban and Rural Barangays categories,respecti vely. Meanwhile Barangay Aglayan of Malaybalay City and Barangay Catumbalon of Valencia City were the Regional Winners under the Component Cities Urban and Rural Barangay categories, respectively.

Misamis Oriental Governor Oscar Moreno appreciated the giving of such awards to the local officials as initiated by the DILG, saying that “this isn’t only mere contests or competitions but others will be benefited from the best practices emerging from these outstanding local government units.”

DILG Undersecretary for Local Government Austere Panadero affirmed the Governor’s message saying that with effective teamwork the job will be easier and productive, especially for the sanggunians. He also mentioned that the good performance of the GABAY awardees is a concrete manifestation that local government devolution works.

“This award to the barangays also proves that indeed there are heroes among us who continue to work hard for their constituents.”

LTIA, GABAY and Local Legislative Award are part of the DILG’s Local Government Unit Awards program that recognize the local officials and the barangays who did well in exemplifying good local governance at the grassroots level.

According to Undersecretary Panadero, the DILG, as part of its legislative agenda, will continue to present to Congress the Department’s budget which includes certain budget for the barangays and the lupons in order to give the two entities adequate support, especially trainings and incentives for the lupons.

Also present during the awarding ceremony were Cagayan de Oro City Mayor Constantino Jaraula, City Councilor Ian Mark Nacaya, Philippine Councilors League Region 10 President Librado Abesamis, Liga ng mga Barangay Regional President Arsenio Kho, Jr., DILG-10 Regional Director Loreto Bhagwani, Assistant Regional Director Ananias Villacorta, Liga ng mga Barangay Provincial and City Chapter Presidents, PCL Board of Directors, and DILG-10 field commanders.

Director Bhagwani is proud to bestow these awards to the winners as these gave honor and pride to the performing the barangay and local officials, while inspiring others to also strive for excellence in local governance. (DILG Press Release)

The Sangguniang Bayan of Mahinog led by Vice Mayor Rogerio C. Acle (7th from left) personally receives the award as regional winner and national finalist of the prestigious Outstanding Sangguniang Bayan Award for 4th-6th Class Municipalities recently at Dynasty Court Hotel and Restaurant in Cagayan de Oro City. In this photo: Cagayan de Oro City Mayor Constantino Jaraula (5th from left), DILG Undersecretary for Local Government Austere Panadero (6th from left), Philippine Councilors League Region 10 President Librado Abesamis (4th from left), Liga ng mga Barangay Regional President Arsenio Kho, Jr. (2nd from left) - Photo by Homer R. Jajalla

No comments:

Post a Comment

Chat @ mahinog trumpet